CASE Belarus — Center for Social and Economic Research Belarus — is a non-governmental, non-profit and non-partisan organization established in 2007 in Warsaw. CASE Belarus is a EU-based economic research centre that focuses on Belarus economy: it deals with carrying out broad socio-economic analysis, sectoral studies, data provision, and policy recommendations for Belarus. Our team made of both senior and young promising Belarusian economists aspires to impact the economic and social policies pursued in Belarus and the society’s understanding of economic developments.

CASE Belarus is a part of CASE network, which is one of the best think tanks in Central Europe and CIS[1], thus it benefits from sharing knowledge and experience of all CASE network members based in Poland, Ukraine, Belarus, Moldova, Georgia and Kyrgyzstan. We share CASE’s core idea that evidence-based policy-making is vital to the economic welfare of societies.
CASE Belarus’ mission is to boost market reforms in Belarus by providing constructive policy solutions and performing objective economic analysis in order to improve socio-economic well-being of the Belarusian society.

To achieve its mission CASE BELARUS is guided by four main principles: (1) building core team out of Belarusian researchers, (2) being innovative in what to study and research instruments employed, (3) being open for cooperation and outcomes distribution, and (4) targeting the European research funds to finance activities.

We strongly believe that existence of independent think-tanks which provide non-partisan and professional research is irreplaceable for civil society development in Belarus and that it will support transition process in Belarus by helping to avoid at least some mistakes of other post-socialist countries.

[1] CASE has been named a Center of Excellence in CEE and ranked the number one think tank globally in the category Think Tanks with Annual Operating Budgets of Less than USD 5 Million, according to the University of Pennsylvania Global Go To Think Tank Index Report for 2020